Vegetarian chili (adapted recipe)

It’s been a while since I posted a recipe, so I thought I would share this recipe that I have done a couple of times now. It was originally a recipe for “authentic chili”, although I’d argue that it’s probably still quite westernised. My version of the recipe came to divert quite a bit from the original anyway, for the simple reason that 1) I wanted it to be vegetarian. 2) The original required ingredients I simply did not have. It was a bit of a gamble but it turned out really yummy! I imagine it’s not that difficult to make this vegan if you’re so inclined. You’d have to switch the quorn for soy mince though.

Ingredients

300g Quorn mince

1 Tin of kidney beans (~400g)

2 Big red onions

7-10 Garlic cloves

2 Big carrots

3 Big bell peppers (assorted colours)

2 chilis

2 tsps of chipotle

1 tbsp of oregano

2 bay leaves

1-2 tbsps of garam masala

2 tbsps of ginger

1 tbsp of syrup or honey

800g crushed tomatoes

1 dl red wine vinegar

2½ dl vegetable stock

5 dl pale ale

Instructions

1. Heat a big pot with oil on the middle setting.

2. Cut the onions, garlic, carrot, chili and garlic finely and let them sizzle in the pot until they soften and have a nice colour.

3. Add the Quorn mince and the beans and fry for a few minutes.

4. Add the crushed tomatoes, beer, vinegar and vegetable stock. Stir.

5. Add the honey/syrup, oregano, garam masala, bay leaves and chipotle.

6. Let the stew simmer for an hour. Cut the bell peppers into medium-sized squares in the meanwhile.

7. Add the bell pepper to the stew. Allow the stew to simmer for a minimum of two hours. Enjoy!

I serve this with rice, but I imagine it would taste nice with corn bread or nacho chips as well. I’m a bit of a wuss so I eat the chili with some creme fraiché or yoghurt, even if it might be frowned upon by hardcore chili-lovers.

Image

 

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

