Some late thoughts on Breaking Bad/Meth Makers (spoilers)

Phew, finished and sent in my application for a ph.d position today. I spent literally hours crafting my personal statement/cover letter, because I’ve never applied for a position quite like this before… can’t use the cover letters from my days as a care assistant, y’know. I feel ridiculously under-qualified, but I would hate myself if I didn’t take the chance and applied. Even a small chance is better than no chance.

Yesterday I finished watching Breaking Bad, or Meth Makers as I’ve been urged by unnamed forces to call it. We started watching the show from the first episode a little while after the final episode aired, so I haven’t been following media or anything at all. I have avoided everything about the show because I didn’t want to get spoiled. We watched the last four episodes in one sitting. I knew from the moment that Hank called Marie and said “I love you” that he would get killed and I was so mad! Hank was awful and awesome at the same time. Yeah, he was horribly inappropriate at times but he turned out to be one of the better characters of the series. I’m disappointed that we didn’t get to see Marie grieve more.

I’m also disappointed that there wasn’t any resolution between Walt and Junior/Flynn. It was inevitable that Flynn would turn against Walt, but it just seems unfair that he went from basically idolizing his father to hating him and just have it end there. Sure, Walt was a bad person and he ruined lives, but I would have liked a sign that Flynn would eventually learn to forgive Walt or realize that, while he was a bad person, he genuinely cared for his family. I’m glad Jessie got out of it alive, but at the same time I’m glad he suffered. I like Jessie but I can’t deny he was a part of some really fucked up things and maybe now he won’t feel the need to punish himself anymore. I choose to believe that he got away and got to start a better life. I never really understood Jessie and Walt’s relationship because in one episode they hate each other and in the next they say they’re like family.

When it comes to Walt’s fate, I thought I wanted it but then I felt a twinge of sympathy after all in the end. Like Dexter, I was sure from early on that I wanted Walt to truly face the consequences of what he had done. With Breaking Bad, the show prepared us from the first episode that Walt was going to die sooner or later, so I guess any other ending than Walt dying wouldn’t have worked. I still think I would have preferred seeing Walt in prison or a meth overlord but with his cover blown and everyone knowing who he was and what he had done.

Overall I’m happy with how the series finished. I mean the only other show that I watched that finished this year was Dexter, and in comparison I have NOTHING  to complain about with Breaking Bad. Still bummed about Hank, but at least he got to go out in a relatively dignified manner, not crying and begging for his life. I need to find another show to fill the hole now.

But it’s not urgent; I’ve been longing to read other people’s thoughts on BB for months and finally there’s nothing holding me back. So if you can’t get hold of me, it’s probably because I’m stuck reading every interview and article about BB that I can find. 😉

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

