A day of gluttony and calorie counting

Today I proved to myself once and for all that a very hungry small-to-average sized woman CAN eat an entire footlong from Subways. Whether she should is an entirely different matter all together though.

I have been out walking in the city today. I had to wait a little over 30 minutes for my train back, so I ordered a cappuccino in a coffee shop and sat down there and waited. Over 1 hour later and I’m home, on my couch, finishing said cappuccino. What’s up with making cappuccinos so hot that you have to wait 20 minutes before you can sip it without burning your mouth? Just because you CAN doesn’t mean you should. Or maybe I’m weird and everyone else just like their coffee that hot?

I’ve started using this calorie counting app called “FatSecret”. It’s good in the sense that it knows just how much calories a Subway Veggie Patty Footlong is (too many) and it’s pretty easy to use. It’s bad in the sense that on an average day I cook my own food using quite a lot of different ingredients, which makes registering that meal difficult. For example, yesterday for lunch I had pasta with a pasta sauce made from crushed tomatoes, red onion, garlic and cooked lentils. I also had a little bit of ketchup and cheese on top. That’s 7 ingredients that I need to find on the app one by one and estimate how much of them I ate. There is an option to “create new meal “, which means I can type “Pasta with sauce” and then enter how many calories it contains. The downside is that I can’t do this without entering the amount of proteins and fat it contains as well. I usually know which foods contain a relatively high amount of protein, but it’s difficult to specify it down to the gram like the app wants you to do. It’s also a bit confusing on how much calories you should eat per day. I have my account set on “weight loss” which means that I should burn more than I eat. The app will tell you how many calories you have eaten and how many you have left on your Recommended Daily Intake.  I *think* this is adjusted after whether you have chosen the setting “slow weight loss”, “weigh loss” or “weight gain” etc. It is however not clear, so I’m currently trying to eat less than 100 % of my calculated RDI (she says after eating a fucking footlong, lol) in case the RDI is what I should eat to remain at my current weight. It doesn’t seem to change depending on how much I exercise either.

To summarize, FatSecret is probably a good app if you don’t cook much for yourself. Correct me if I’m wrong though, because I’ve only been using the app for a few days!

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

