Cinnamon roll day!

Image

It’s the national cinnamon roll day in Sweden! The cinnamon roll (“kanelbulle””) is a very well-loved pastry in Sweden. When I mention baking cinnamon rolls to Americans they usually go “Oh I love cinnamon rolls! So delicious!” but I’ve looked at American cinnamon and they look something like this:

Image

You can see how the cinnamon rolls that I make, from the standard Swedish cinnamon roll recipe, looks like in the photo at the top of the post. Both Americans and British seems to enjoy frosting and icing far more than Swedes. I feel like Swedes are very protective of the original Swedish recipe and don’t like to make many changes to it, but personally I’d try Ruby’s versions from the latest Great British Bake-Off.  I don’t know why we have a national cinnamon day but I’m guessing commercial reasons. I know some people find these kinds of days and holidays annoying because they feel like it’s just a trick to get us to buy more, but I don’t mind cinnamon roll day because I will just make the cinnamon rolls myself. I love baking!

If anyone is interested, here’s the recipe I used, you can find it anywhere in Swedish but maybe it’s harder to find a traditional one in English. It’s enough for 25 cinnamon rolls.

Dough:

75g butter

2,5 dl milk

6 dl wheat flour

25g yeast

0.5 dl sugar

1.5 teaspoon cardamom

A pinch of salt

Filling:

50g butter

1 tablespoon cinnamon (Increase or decrease the amount depending on how much you like cinnamon!)

0.5 dl sugar

1 egg for glazing.

Optional: Pearl sugar for decorating.

Instructions:

Crush the yeast into a bowl. Melt the butter in a saucepan and add the milk. Stir until it’s around 37c, or a bit higher if you’re using dry yeast. Pour  a little of the liquid over the yeast until it dissolves, then add the rest. Stir in the salt, sugar and the cardamom. Measure the flour and gradually work it into the dough, but save a little for when you tuck the dough. The dough has enough flour when it is smooth and doesn’t stick to the edges of the bowl. Let it rest and rise for around 40 minutes until it has doubled in size.

Spread some flour on a surface and knead the dough. Split it in to two equal parts. Tuck the dough with a rolling-pin into a square, roughly 25 cm x 15 cm. Melt the butter and brush it onto the dough. Either mix the sugar with the cinnamon in a bowl and then sprinkle it on the dough all in once, or do like me and start off sprinkling the cinnamon and then the sugar (I do this because I find that it gives me a better idea on how much cinnamon I like to put on). Roll the dough starting and finishing on the long sides of the dough. Cut the dough lengths in 10-13 equal pieces each and put them into cake tins. Let the rolls rise for another 40 minutes. Turn on the oven at 200/225c. Once the rolls are done rising, beat an egg and brush it over the buns. If you want you can sprinkle them with pearl sugar. Put the rolls in the oven and bake them for 8-10 minutes. Enjoy!

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

