Orange is the New Black and the B-word

I’m sure it’s been said before but someone REALLY needs to explain the word “bisexual” to the characters in Orange is the new black. I love the show and I have almost finished season 1 and I haven’t read any discussions or reviews about it but it annoys me to no end that 90 % of the characters seems completely oblivious to the fact that a person could be something else than completely straight or gay. I just can’t with Larry going “So my fiancee is gay now? 😦 Forever? :(“. I swear to god that they’ve only used the words “lesbian”, “gay” and “straight” to describe Piper (Alex: “Never fall in love with a straight girl”, Larry: “So you were gay”, Tucky: “Sinning lesbians!”, Piper: “I was gay. For a while.”) yet Piper several times has describes herself as someone who is into BOTH women and men. But NO, the word bisexual is never used. I know that there exists this weird prejudice towards bisexual people by idiots who believe that a bisexual is just someone who is homosexual in denial or just doing it for the attention, but since the show doesn’t seem to be written by those kind of people I JUST DON’T GET WHY THEY CAN’T USE THE RIGHT WORD.

She’s B-I-S-E-X-U-A-L, Larry. It happens. Deal with it.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

