Grumpy Swede at IKEA

Today was spent shopping at IKEA and enjoying a lunch consisting of disappointing mashed potatoes, gravy and lingonberry jam that cost £0.5. It’s not quite the same without the meatballs, I guess the meal is more exciting for meateaters.  Bought some stuff, like a clock that we will have to return because it doesn’t appear to be working. At least I got a jar of lingonberry jam (I can spot two or three lingonberries floating around in that red sugar jelly so I guess it counts as jam). I know some Swedes living abroad go to IKEA to feel at home, but it just reminds me that I’m away to be honest. Small stuff as a misspelled sign in Swedish, the traditional gravy not being quite right and the lingonberry being served in a pump. 

I don’t miss Sweden that much yet, but I wish I was able to find the following items here: Big packages of low-fat strawberry yoghurt (1 litre or more), my favorite ramen noodles, prescription-free 20mg Omeprezol, Marabou chocolate and fresh/wet yeast.

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

