Original art post

So over a month ago I said something about buying ridiculously expensive faber-castell pencils to make a drawing for my mum’s birthday. I was meaning to post the result but I got distracted or something and posted a bunch of TMI:s and a little bit dumb posts instead. But hey, better later than never. These photos have been on my computer for about a month so I guess I’ll post them now?

Image

Image

Filling in the seaweed was a pain in the ass. The position of her left arm looks a bit odd, I think the shading there is a bit off. I was pressed for time when I made it so I didn’t attempt to fix as many mistakes as I usually do, and due to my overly firm pen grip my hand didn’t really want to work with me (hand cramps).  I wanted to find a reference photo for the pose I had in mind, but there wasn’t really anything that was spot on, so I had to use a lot of imagination to try to imagine how her body could be positioned realistically. That’s a good exercise but it’s not something I like doing or is particularly good at! I can hardly figure out which way to look when crossing a street so imagining how a muscle would flex if a body part is angled a certain way is tough. Aside from the hand cramps, I had fun doing it. Drawing on a relatively big canvas has the advantage of being able to focus more on details, but it also means that it takes ages to fill in things. When I was finished I was frustrated that things hadn’t come out exactly as I wanted them to, because it certainly isn’t perfect, but now that some time has passed I can appreciate it. And OMG I love the pens!

And if you were wondering, it’s completely acceptable in my family to give nude portraits to each other.

My younger sister’s comment on this: “You are really good at drawing nude women…”

Me: “Or maybe I just really hate drawing clothes and try to avoid it at all cost…”

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

