The ultimate sad music post

I love sad songs, who doesn’t??! 😀 There has actually been a recent study that showed that people that listen to sad songs feel better. I’ve been meaning to put together a song list of sad songs that I like, but I’ve put it off because I have so many songs and they range from childish pop to metal. I’ve decided to create several different sad music song lists so you can find songs that caters to that very particular sad feeling that you want to experience! Enjoy! I could go on forever adding songs (especially more Ingrid Michaelson songs) but it’s 11:15 pm and I got work tomorrow so I think this will just have to do.

I’m a shitty human being and I’m sad. This song list only has two song but the songs are so powerful that I deemed that two was enough.

Hate me – Blue October

Breathe me – Sia

Sad songs about love/relationships

9 crimes – Damien Rice

Corner of your heart – Ingrid Michaelson

Famous Blue Raincoat – Leonard Cohen

Unsuffer Me – Lucinda Williams

To build a home – Cinematic Orchestra

We both go down together – The Decemberists

Sad songs that holds a promise of a better future:

Better son/daughter – Rilo Kiley

Die Alone – Ingrid Michaelson

Be OK – Ingrid Michaelson

I’m weird and sad

Creep – Radiohead, of course. I know some people think it’s been done to death but its a good song.

Awkward – Fidlar

Sullen Girl – Fiona Apple

Not a Pretty Girl – Ani DiFranco (It’s so much more than just a sad song but whatever, it’s great).

A powerful ache instead of a stab wound

I’ve flirted with you all my life – Vic Chesnutt

I see a darkness – Bonny Prince Billy

The trick is to keep breathing – Garbage

Letting the cables sleep – Bush

Existential sad songs/I don’t know what the fuck these songs are about but I like them-songlist

The Rip – Portishead

On an unknown beach – Peter Jefferies

Apathetic and/or depressed

Right where it belongs – Nine Inch Nails

Every day is exactly the same – Nine Inch Nails

Mad World – Gary Jules

Uninhabited Man – Richard Thompson

Sad and addicted-song list

Full Circle – Half Moon Run

Mosquito – Ingrid Michaelson (ALL THE INGRID SONGS! :D)

How to save a life – The Fray

The drugs don’t work – The Verve

Loss – songlist

Lose you – Pete Yorn

Casimir Pulaski Day – Sulfjan Stevens

Yankee Bayonet – The Decemberists

Padraic My Prince – Bright Eyes

Passing Afternoon – Iron & Wine

Empty chairs at empty tables – Les Miserables

Broken Bride – Ludo (The entire EP to be honest, not because it is sad but because it is AWESOME and I’ve loved it ever since I discovered it)

Lonelyness

Hope there’s someone – Anthony and the Johnsons

Everything beautiful is far away – Grandaddy

Mistake – Moby

Hurt – Nine Inch Nails or Johnny Cash, both are very good in their own right.

Illusion – VNV Nation

Whew! I hope it’s true that listening to sad songs will make you feel better, otherwise I’m afraid for whoever listened to all the songs in this music post…

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

